Though the band regrouped for a brief U.K. tour in 1994, The Soft Boys’ first Stateside appearance in more than 20 years will be a Matador Records showcase at the South By Southwest music festival in Austin, Texas.

The record label is reissuing Underwater Moonlight with eight bonus tracks and a single, “He’s a Reptile,” which was supposed to be on the original 1981 release.

A bonus CD of previously unreleased studio sessions from 1979 and 1980 is included as well. For purists, the album will also be available on vinyl.

Hitchcock returns with the same Soft Boys lineup that recorded Underwater Moonlight in 1981: Kimberley Rew (guitar), Matthew Seligman (bass), and Morris Windsor (drums).

Though the band’s name may not be instantly recognizable 20 years after the split, its brief career has profoundly influenced alternative pop over the years.

After the SxSW show, The Soft Boys will travel to the Northeast and then head west.

They’ll be supported by Young Fresh Fellows on eight of the 15 concerts scheduled so far, and will appear with John Wesley Harding March 29 – 31.

During the years after The Soft Boys’ breakup, Robyn Hitchcock became the most prolific member as a solo act and with his band, the Egyptians.