Americana Honors

The fourth annual Americana Music Honors & Awards were passed out September 9th at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium.

John Prine won artist of the year, and Buddy Miller took top honors for album. Mary Gauthier was named best new artist.

The Rounder Founders (Ken Irvin, Marian Leighton and Bill Nowlin) got lifetime achievement awards, as did Marty Stuart and Guy Clark.

The two-hour event, which featured appearances by Emmylou Harris, Steve Earle, Arlo Guthrie and many others, is scheduled for broadcast September 26th on the Great American Country channel.