Canadian Country Winners

George Canyon was the big winner at this year’s Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) awards at Calgary, Alberta’s Pengrowth Saddledome September 12th.

The “Nashville Star” runner-up took four honors – male artist, single, song of the year and fans’ choice.

Terri Clark was named female artist of the year.

A crowd of about 7,000 showed for the event emceed by six-time host Paul Brandt, who himself walked away with album of the year for This Time Around and CMT video of the year for “Convoy.”

Performers included Canyon, Clark, The Road Hammers, Doc Walker, and Amanda Wilkinson to name a few.

The Road Hammers were named group of the year and Wilkinson scored the Chevy Trucks Rising Star Award.

The ceremony was broadcast live in Canada on CBC and aired in the U.S. on the Great American Country channel.