X will feature its original lineup of Exene Cervenka, John Doe, Billy Zoom and DJ Bonebrake, and the Rollins Band is back with the same formation that recorded the 1994 album Weight – frontman Henry Rollins, bassist Melvin Gibbs, guitarist Chris Haskett, drummer Sim Cain and producer/sound man Theo Van Rock.

“Not since 1997 have we played together, so it’s a big deal to us,” Rollins said. “We are very excited to be back together and to be out playing in America this summer. The band is really sounding great. I can’t wait to get out there.”

The two bands will launch the tour July 28 at The Warfield in San Francisco. They’ll hit 18 cities on the trek, including Las Vegas, Denver, Omaha, Chicago and Philadelphia. The last date on the itinerary is August 19, when they’ll rock Boston’s Avalon.

Tickets for many dates go on sale June 3.