Another iebaLIVE! For The Books

The International Entertainment Buyers Association saw a record registration tally of more than 450 for its 2006 event October 15-17 at Nashville’s Hilton Suites.

A weekend of artist showcases, panel discussions and a keynote by The Future of Music’s David Kusek highlighted the annual iebaLIVE! – and a golf tournament and Harley ride helped attendees keep busy during down time.

Panel topics included the online music business, “independence unplugged,” the future of the concert promoter, corporate buying, marketing and sponsorships, fairs and festivals, casino buyers, and facilities/IAAM.

In addition to the show-closing awards party, special events and awards were part of each day of the conference. The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band‘s 40th anniversary was commemorated with a special award presented by Rodney Crowell to Jeff Hanna, Jimmie Fadden, Rob Carpenter and John McEuen, who also performed a set.

IEBA also presented the Founders award to Nick Dorr of Variety Attractions; Lifetime Achievement, Ronnie Milsap; Living Legend, ZZ Top; Industry Achievement to Starstruck Entertainment‘s Narvel Blackstock; and the Presidents award to Carey Harveycutter of the Salem Civic Center.

Brian O’Connell of Live Nation won talent buyer of the year; Live Nation, concert promoter of the year; Creative Artists Agency, agency of the year; Kevin Neal of Buddy Lee Attractions, talent agent of the year; Mohegan Sun, venue of the year; Mike Smardak of Outback Concerts, entertainment buyer of the year; and CMA Music Fest for fair, festival or special event.