CCMA Noms Announced

George Canyon and newcomer Shane Yellowbird lead the nominations for this year’s Canadian Country Music Association Awards, with five each.

Multiple nods include Paul Brandt, Doc Walker, Emerson Drive, Brad Johner and Carolyn Dawn Johnson. The awards show will take place in Regina, Saskatchewan, September 10th.

Group or duo of the year nods went to Ambush, Walker, Emerson Drive, The Road Hammers and The Wilkinsons. American acts Alan Jackson, Rascal Flatts, Carrie Underwood, Dixie Chicks and Toby Keith are up for the top selling album award, which is not voted on.

As far as industry nominations go, management company of the year noms went to Big Ride Management, Martineau Consulting, O’Reilly Entertainment Management, RGK Entertainment Group and The Woody Bowles Company.

Booking agency of the year nominations are The Agency Group, Cressman Sakamoto Agency, Laurie-Ann Entertainment Agency, LiveTourArtists, and Paquin Entertainment.

Up for talent buyer or promoter of the year are Kelly Berehulka (Casinos of Winnipeg), Jan Campbell (Calgary Stampede), Ron Sakamoto (Gold & Gold Productions), Ron Sparling (Laurie-Ann Entertainment Agency), and Larry Werner (Panhandle Productions).

Country club of the year nominees include Cook County Saloon of Edmonton; Jackhammers of Brantford, Ontario; The Pump Roadhouse in Regina; Ranchman’s Cookhouse and Dancehall in Calgary; and Random Ranch of Barrie, Ontario.

Battling for country festival, fair or exhibition are the Big Valley Jamboree in Camrose, Alberta; Calgary Stampede; Craven Country Jamboree in Craven, Saskatchewan; Dauphin’s Countryfest in Dauphin, Manitoba; and Mountainfest in Merritt, British Columbia.