Vincent Tops Bluegrass Noms

Rhonda Vincent & The Rage top the list of nominees announced August 16th for the International Bluegrass Music Awards hosted by Sam Bush at Nashville’s Grand Ole Opry House October 4th.

Vincent & The Rage are up for awards in 11 categories followed by Alison Krauss & Union Station featuring Jerry Douglas, The Del McCoury Band and Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder with seven nods each. Six-time vocal group of the year winner Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver earned six nominations.

Entertainer of the year nominees include reigning recipient The Grascals along with Cherryholmes, Union Station, Quicksilver, The Rage and The Del McCoury Band.

Nominees for female vocalist include Krauss, Vincent, Claire Lynch, Sonya Isaacs and Dale Ann Bradley.

Male vocalist nominees are Bradley Walker, Larry Sparks, Tim O’Brien, Russell Moore and Ronnie Bowman.

Nominees for emerging artist of the year are Cadillac Sky, Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper featuring Audie Blaylock, The Infamous Stringdusters, Bradley Walker and Williams & Clark Expedition.

This year’s inductees into the Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame are Howard Watts (a.k.a. Cedric Rainwater) and Carl Story.