Gilmour Doesn’t Rule Out Floyd Reunion

Gossip and rumours are bound to be fueled by Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour telling BBC 6 Music that he doesn’t rule out the chance of the act doing another reunion show.

And the announcement of the band being awarded the prestigious Polar Prize in Sweden can only add to the fervor.

Gilmour suggested the original members of the band could get together for another one-off gig in the future, but said there was very little chance of a tour.

"Who knows? Who knows the future? I haven’t absolutely said ‘no’ to the possibility but I think that in reality any sort of long-term thing together is not going to happen," he said.

"We did the one-off thing and that was probably enough for me but we shall see. At my incredibly advantaged age – having achieved this – I’ve earned the right to sit on my ass for a little while and consider what to do next," Gilmour said.

The four members of Pink Floyd’s most famous incarnation – Roger Waters, who is currently touring his own version of the band’s classic The Dark Side Of The Moon, Nick Mason, Rick Wright and Gilmour – reunited for a one-off set at 2005’s Live 8 charity festival at London’s Hyde Park.

Pink Floyd was awarded the 2008 Polar Music Prize May 21 for its monumental contribution to "the fusion of art and music in the development of popular culture."

The citation describes how the act used "extensive sonic experimentation" to capture the mood and spirit of a whole generation.

"When rock-n-roll developed, Pink Floyd was foremost in shaping the sounds that would influence artists for ever," the citation says.

Floyd shares the prize with Renée Fleming, the American soprano who has sung leading roles at New York City Opera and London Royal Opera House.

The laureates will receive the prize from King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden at a gala ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall August 26.

A weekend of activities is being planned under the name of Polar Music Prize Week, including exhibitions, workshops, seminars, film screenings and live performances at various locations in Stockholm.

Each recipient receives a total of 1 million Swedish Crowns, equal to about US$164,000.

The prize was founded in 1989 by the late Stig Anderson – publisher, lyricist and manager of ABBA – and has become one of the most prestigious music prizes in the world.

Previous winners include Led Zeppelin, B.B. King, Miriam Makeba, Burt Bacharach, Bob Dylan, Stevie Wonder, Ray Charles, Ravi Shankar, Bruce Springsteen, Joni Mitchell, Elton John, Mstislav Rostropovich, Quincy Jones, Dizzy Gillespie and Paul McCartney, who shared the 1992 award with the three Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.