Bluegrass Noms Announced

The nominations for this year’s International Bluegrass Music Awards were announced in Nashville August 14, with new group Dailey & Vincent leading with 10 nominations.

Blue Highway, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder and The Dan Tyminski Band received six nominations each.

The contenders for bluegrass event of the year include The Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival in Ancramdale, N.Y., The River City Bluegrass Festival in Portland, Ore., and the 29th Annual Thomas Point Beach Bluegrass Festival in Thomas Point Beach, Maine.

Entertainer of the year nominations went to Dailey & Vincent, The Grascals, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, The Del McCoury Band, and Rhonda Vincent & The Rage.

Acts up for vocal group include Blue Highway, Dailey & Vincent, The Grascals, The Isaacs, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, and Danny Paisley & The Southern Grass.

Instrumental group noms include Blue Highway, Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, The Infamous Stringdusters, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, and The Dan Tyminski Band.

Jaime Dailey, Russell Moore, Tim O’Brien, Danny Paisley and Tyminski were nominated for male vocalist. Female vocalist nominees are Dale Ann Bradley, Sonya Issacs, Alison Krauss, Claire Lynch and Rhonda Vincent.

Emerging artist of the year noms went to Cadillac Sky, Dailey & Vincent, Grasstowne, Danny Paisley and the Southern Grass, and The SteelDrivers.

The award show is scheduled to take place at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium October 2 with Del McCoury as host.