Coldplay Sharing The Live Love

Suffering from the crappy economy? Fan of Coldplay? If so, the British rock band has a deal for you – the guys are giving away a free live CD to everyone that attends a Coldplay show through the end of 2009.

“Playing live is what we love,” Coldplay said in a statement. “This album is a thank you to our fans – the people who give us a reason to do it and the people who make it happen.”

The guys added that the album giveaway was a “recession-busting mark of gratitude.”

The 9-track LeftRightLeftRightLeft was recorded in various cities during the past year’s tour. You can get your hands on the album as soon as the summer Viva La Vida summer tour kicks off May 15.

Photo: AP Photo
MusiCares Person of the Year tribute honoring Neil Diamond, Los Angeles Convention Center, Calif.

The North American tour begins with a show at Cruzan Amphitheatre in West Palm Beach, Fla., May 15, wraps around the country and then winds up back in Florida with a show at the Ford Amphitheatre in Tampa, Aug. 9.

Coldplay then heads for Europe, starting things off with a show at Herning Messe Center in Herning, Denmark, Aug. 16 and with dates on the books through two nights at London’s Wembley Stadium, Sept. 18-19.

Rotating opening acts for the Viva La Vida summer tour include Pete Yorn (May 15-June 14), Snow Patrol (June 5-21), Amadou & Mariam (July 10-24), Elbow (July 25- Aug. 9), Howling Bells (May 15-21) and Kitty, Daisy & Lewis (July 10-Aug. 9).

If you can’t make it to one of the shows, you’re still in luck because the live album will also be available as a free download from the band’s Web site as of May 15.

Here’s the track list for LeftRightLeftRightLeft:
1. Glass of Water
2. 42
3. Clocks
4. Strawberry Swing
5. The Hardest Part/Postcards From Far Away
6. Viva La Vida
7. Death Will Never Conquer
8. Fix You
9. Death And All His Friends

Check out Coldplay’s Web site by clicking here.