ACM Holds Honors Night

The Academy of Country Music held its second annual ACM Honors awards show in Nashville Sept. 22, which included concert industry awards and off-camera winners from the ACM Awards show.

Honor awards included the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award, the Jim Reeves International Award and the Poet’s Award. The Pioneer Award went to Jerry Reed, Kenny Rogers, Randy Travis and Hank Williams Jr. Merle Haggard and Harlan Howard were honored with the Poet’s Award.

Casino of the year went to Turning Stone Casino in Verona, N.Y. Romeo Entertainment’s Fran Romeo won the talent buyer award. Louis Messina got the promoter nod and the Ryman Auditorium won venue of the year. Joe’s Bar in Chicago was named top nightclub.

The night also included awards for individual musicians, such as top bass player (Glenn Worf), fiddle player (Aubrey Haynie) and guitarist (Tom Bukovac).