Essig, O’Connell Earn ACM Awards

The Academy of Country Music handed out its off-camera awards April 6, with Rod Essig and Brian O’Connell getting special notice.

Former ACM chairman Rod Essig has been chosen as the recipient of the Mae Boren Axton Award, which is given in recognition of years of dedication and service by an outstanding individual to the Academy of Country Music.

O’Connell was named promoter of the year for a record fourth time. 

Billy Bob’s Texas in Ft. Worth was named nightclub of the year. Green Valley Ranch Resort, Spa & Casino in Las Vegas was named casino of the year and Todd Boltin of Variety Attractions walked away with the Don Romeo talent buyer of the year award.

The Bridgestone Arena (aka Sommet Center) in Nashville won the venue of the year category.

The 45th annual Academy of Country Music Awards is expected to be broadcast by CBS from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas April 18.