Castro Wins Big In Blues

The 31st annual Blues Music Awards took place in Memphis May 6, and Tommy Castro walked away as the big winner.

Castro won in all four categories in which he was nominated including the first-ever B.B. King Entertainer of the Year award. The other three categories were band, contemporary blues album and contemporary blues male artist.

This week’s HotStar, Ruthie Foster, won contemporary blues female artists. Best new artist is Monkey Junk, and album of the year went to Joe Louis Walker. The first-ever Koko Taylor Award (formerly best traditional female artist) was awarded to Debbie Davies.

The awards ceremony, held at the Cook Convention Center, honored winners in 26 categories.