More Fame For Legends And Icons

Jimmy Page, Duane Eddy and Richard Thompson joined the list of guitar greats Mojo has honoured for their contribution to music.

Page was inducted into the magazine’s Hall Of Fame at its annual awards ceremony in London June 10, where Eddy was named as a Mojo “icon” and Thompson a “guitar legend.”

Page, who last won a Mojo award for the 2007 Led Zeppelin reunion, revealed he was working on new material with a number of different projects. He has also been taken on by management company IE, which looks after Robbie Williams.

Singer-songwriter Richard Hawley won the best album prize for Truelove’s Gutter, while Kasabian’s single “Fire” was named song of the year. The Low Anthem was named best breakthrough act.

A further 16 honorary prizes were handed out. They included the classic album award, which went to The Stone Roses for their 1989 self-titled debut LP.

Mojo is now the best-selling music magazine in the UK, selling more than twice as many copies as NME.