CMA Awards Performers Announced

Jason Aldean, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton, Taylor Swift and Keith Urban will have the chance to prove just who should snag this year’s award for entertainer of the year when all five nominees perform at the CMA Awards.

The 45th annual edition of the show takes place Nov. 9 at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. The show, which is being hosted by Paisley and Carrie Underwood, airs live on the ABC television network 8-11 p.m. ET.

The first group of performers is among this year’s top 2011 CMA-nominated artists. In addition to being nominated for entertainer of the year, Aldean, Paisley, Shelton and Swift each picked up nods in four other categories.

Paisley, who was crowned the 2010 Entertainer of the Year, was also nominated for male vocalist; album for This is Country Music; and musical event and music video of the year for “Old Alabama” featuring Alabama. The singer-songwriter has been nominated every year since 2000, racking up 57 career nominations and 14 CMA awards.

Aldean earned his first CMA nominations this year. He’s also competing for male vocalist; album for My Kinda Party; and single and musical event of the year for “Don’t You Wanna Stay” with Kelly Clarkson.

The Band Perry will compete with Lady Antebellum, Rascal Flatts, Zac Brown Band and Little Big Town in the vocal group category. And the sibling trio is nominated with Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Thompson Square and Chris Young in the new artist of the year category.

Shelton is up for male vocalist; album for All About Tonight; and single and music video of the year for “Honey Bee.” Last year he walked away with the awards for male vocalist and musical event of the year.

Swift, who won the Horizon Award in 2007 and snagged the entertainer of the year award in 2009, is up for female vocalist; album for Speak Now; music video for “Mean;” and song of the year for writing “Mean.” She could take home an additional trophy as the co-producer of her album.

Urban received a second nomination for 2011 male vocalist. He previously took home that award for three consecutive years between 2004-2006, along with the 2005 entertainer of the year award.