Blues Music Awards Announces Nominations

Rick Estrin leads the nominees for the 39th annual Blues Music Awards to take place at Memphis Cook Convention Center in Tennessee May 10.

Estrin and his band The Nightcats are up for band of the year, album of the year and traditional blues album for Groovin’ in Greaseland. Estrin is nominated for traditional blues male artist, best instrumentalist: harmonica, best song for “The Blues Ain’t Going Nowhere” and B.B. King entertainer of the year.

Also vying for the B.B. King entertainer award are Bobby Rush, Michael Ledbetter, Sugaray Rayford, and Taj Mahal.

Wee Willie Walker has five nods and Don Bryant four nominations. Duo Mike Ledbetter and Monster Mike Welch are up for album of the year, traditional blues album and band of the year.

Other band of the year nominees are The Cash Box Kings, Nick Moss Band, and North Mississippi All-Stars.

 The full list of nominees can be found at