Pitchfork Unveils Initial 2018 Lineup: Tame Impala, DRAM, Raphael Saadiq

Facebook video screenshot
– Pitchfork
Artists unveil the initial artists for Pitchfork Music Festival 2018 via a hand-painted mural in Chicago.

Following Electric Daisy Carnival’s move to send select attendees candy hearts with some of the names of its 2018 artists, Pitchfork Music Festival rolled out its first batch of headliners today via a hand-painted mural in Chicago’s Wicker Park neighborhood.  

The first confirmed acts for the July 20-22 event at the Windy City’s Union Park include Tame Impala, DRAM, Raphael Saadiq, This Is Not This Heat, (Sandy) Alex G, Japandroids, Kelela, and Julien Baker
Pitchfork has promised to stay true to its roots with its most Chicago-centric lineup, including Melkbelly, Joshua Abrams & Natural Information Society, and Ravyn Lenae.
“Each year we assemble a wide-ranging lineup of established and emerging artists whose work is making a significant impact on popular or underground music culture,” Pitchfork founder Ryan Schreiber said in a statement. “This focus on progressive artists who push music forward brings together like-minded fans who care deeply about where music is headed, and that sense of community distinguishes the Pitchfork Music Festival from other summer festivals. Our ultimate goal is to create the best experience for dedicated fans, and watching the festival grow and evolve each year proves that our music-first philosophy is resonating.”
Look out for two more lineup announcements in the next few weeks. 
Tickets are on sale now, priced at $75 for a single-day pass and $175 for a three-day pass. Pitchfork +PLUS upgrades are also available for $375, boasting premium food vendors and private specialty bars. 
Here’s the day-by-day schedule so far: 
Friday, July 20:
Tame Impala
Lucy Dacus
Joshua Abrams & Natural Information Society
Saturday, July 21:
Raphael Saadiq
This Is Not This Heat
Julien Baker
Sunday, July 22: 
Kelly Lee Owens
Irreversible Entanglements
(Sandy) Alex G
Ravyn Lenae