UK Arenas To Observe Minute Of Silence In Remembrance Of Manchester Attack Victims

Members of the U.K.’s National Arenas Association (NAA) will observe the minute of silence May 22 in remembrance of the victims of the attack on Manchester Arena a year ago.

The SSE Hydro
The SSE Hydro
– The SSE Hydro
The venue in Glasgow, Scotland, is one of 22 members of the UK’s National Arenas Association

The NAA’s 22 member venues “will fall silent to remember those victims and their families and friends who were so tragically affected by the Manchester terror attack one year ago,” the announcement reads.

“NAA venues will also be recognizing our friends and colleagues working at the Arena on that day who showed such bravery, compassion and professionalism under the most harrowing of circumstances.”

The NAA’s 22 member’s are Alexandra Palace, Olympia, Royal Albert Hall, The O2, The SSE Arena, Wembley (all London, England), Arena Birmingham and Genting Arena (both Birmingham), Derby Arena, Echo Arena (Liverpool), First Direct Arena (Leeds), FlyDSA Arena (Sheffield), Manchester Arena, Metro Radio Arena (Newcastle), Ricoh Arena (Coventry), Bournemouth Int’l Centre, Brighton Centre, Motorpoint Arena (Nottingham), 3Arena (Dublin, Ireland), Motorpoint Arena (Cardiff, Wales), The SSE Arena, Belfast in Northern Ireland, and, from Scotland, The SSE Hydro (Glasgow) and BHGE Arena (Aberdeen).

The NAA is also collaborating with the European Arenas Association (EAA), the Association of Event Venues (AEV) and the makers of ILMC on the upcoming second Event Safety & Security Summit (E3S), Oct. 30. The event was established last year after Europe had been hit by multiple terrorist attacks of which the May 22 bombing at Manchester Arena was one.