Blues Foundation Unveils Blues Music Awards Nominees

Buddy Guy
John Davisson
– Buddy Guy
Buddy Guy feels the vibes during the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival at the Fair Grounds May 6.

Nominees for this year’s Blues Music Awards include Buddy Guy, Billy Gibbons, Shemekia Copeland, and Ben Harper.

Now in its 40th year, the Blues Foundation’s Gala Ceremony, unveiling the award winners will be May 9 at Cook Convention Center in Memphis, Tenn. Tickets are available for $150 a pop, while a table for 10 costs $1,500.  

Last year’s shindig was emceed by the E Street Band’s Little Steven Van Zandt and saw Taj Mahal and Keb’ Mo’ win, along with Rick Estrin, Mike Zito, Ruthie Foster, Trombone Shorty, and Doug MacLeod.

This year Keyboardist Anthony Geraci is nominated in six categories, including “Song of the Year,” “Album of the Year,” and “Traditional Blues Male Artist.” Shemekia Copeland and Nick Moss are each nominated in four categories, including album of the year.

A release noted this year’s list of nominees has seen an increase in female instrumentalists, including guitarist Laura Chavez, pianist Marcia Ball, and bassist Danielle Nicole.

Winners are decided by votes from Blues Foundation members. You can register as a member and vote until Feb. 28. Learn more about the foundation at