Missy Elliott, Willie Nelson, Sheryl Crow, Rage Against The Machine Among 13 Voted Into Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

The 90th birthday celebration continues for Willie Nelson as the singer-songwriter was one of 13 to be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame this year. The announcement Wednesday morning also honored Missy Elliott, George Michael, Rage Against the Machine, Kate Bush, Sheryl Crow and The Spinners as inductees in the performer category.

See: Willie Nelson’s 90th Birthday at Hollywood Bowl Befitting A Living Legend

The Cleveland-based institution recognized six other notable figures, including singer Chaka Khan, producer Al Kooper and lyricist Bernie Taupin, who co-wrote many of Elton John’s biggest hits, the musical excellence category.

See: Willie Nelson: The Nonagenarian Red-Headed Stranger Breaks New Ground At 90

Legendary DJ Kool Herc and legendary guitarist Link Wray received awards for their musical influence to earn a spot in the 2023 Hall of Fame class, and television producer Don Cornelius, who created and hosted Soul Train, was inducted by receiving the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

The 2023 class will be honored in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s 38th induction ceremony which is set to take place Friday, Nov. 3, at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

Rage Against The Machine In Concert New York, NY
Tim Commerford, Zack de la Rocha and Tom Morello of Rage Against the Machine perform at Madison Square Garden on August 12, 2022, in New York City. (Photo by Astrida Valigorsky/Getty Images)

“This year’s incredible group of inductees reflects the diverse artists and sounds that define rock and roll,” John Sykes, chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, said in a statement. “We are honored that this November’s induction ceremony in New York will coincide with two milestones in music culture; the 90th birthday of Willie Nelson and the 50th anniversary of the birth of hip-hop.”

The nominees that didn’t make the cut included A Tribe Called Quest, The White Stripes, Soundgarden, Cyndi Lauper, Joy Division/New Order, Iron Maiden and Warren Zevon.

Elliott took to social media to thank her supporters, peers and DJs for the honor. Crow did the same, saying she is honored and congratulating the class of 2023.

Rage Against the Machine released a statement on Instagram, saying, “It is a surprising trajectory for us to be welcomed into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.” The band went on to thank the institution for recognizing their music and mission.

“We are grateful to all of the passionate fans, the many talented co-conspirators we’ve worked with and all the activists, organizers, rebels and revolutionaries past, present and future who have inspired our art,” a message signed by Brad Wilk, Tim Commerford, Tom Morello and Zack de la Rocha.