Nearly 300 Artists Sign Letter Backing Fans First Act

More than 250 major artists signed on to a letter supporting the Fans First Act — a comprehensive piece of ticketing reform legislation — that was delivered to the Senate’s Commerce Committee Thursday by the Fix The Tix Coalition.

The letter — signed by, among others, Billie Eilish, Dave Matthews, Cyndi Lauper, Lorde, Sia, Train, Fall Out Boy, Green Day, Graham Nash, Becky G and Chappell Roan — urges action on Fans First in the Senate and the similar TICKET Act in the House. There had been hope that due to the large bipartisan support for ticketing reform and the political expediency of addressing it in an election year that passage would be possible, particularly as Congress shepherded through spending bills earlier this spring. That didn’t develop, leaving ticketing reform advocates to focus on state-level legislation, earning a victory in Maryland.

“It is clear that all participants of the live event ecosystem, from artists, to venues, to fans,
demand comprehensive ticketing reform and consumer protection against the predatory ticket resale practices that have deeply afflicted live entertainment in the United States,” said Stephen Parker, Executive Director of the National Independent Venue Association. “The Fix the Tix Coalition is proud to deliver this critical call to action from artists whose fans experience the injustices of the resale market every show. And, we hope their message resonates with Congress, as officials elected to protect their constituents and as Americans who simply love music. The time for comprehensive ticketing reform is now.”

The full letter delivered to committee chair Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Ranking Member Ted Cruz (R-TX) of the Senate Committee on Commerce is available here. The letter was organized by the Fix The Tix Coalition, a broad coalition, spearheaded by the National Independent Venue Association (NIVA) and Eventbrite, along with over 30 live event industry organizations and professionals formed to collectively advocate for better and fair ticketing practices.

The list of signing artists is here.