Chapman took honors for artist and male vocalist of the year, while the album Speechless, and its most successful cut, “Dive,” each brought him a pair of trophies. His 1999 success translated into yet another artist of the year award, for a record sixth time.

Michael W. Smith ‘s “This Is Your Time,” inspired by the 1999 shootings at Columbine High was named song of the year, coincidentally on the anniversary of the shootings of 13 students at the Littleton, Colo., school.

Smith took home two additional awards for songwriting and short form video.

For the second straight year, Jaci Velasquez won female vocalist honors in addition to trophies for Spanish language album and her work on the special event album of the year.

Sixpence None the Richer, finding crossover success on the pop charts, took home group of the year and special event album of the year awards.

Other groups winning twice were Anointed, Chevel, Fred Hammond, Phil Keaggy, Dottie Peoples and Richard Smallwood. Ginny Owens was named new artist of the year.

Kathie Lee Gifford hosted the sold-out show and performed a duet with Dolly Parton. The event was held at the Grand Ole Opry in Nashville, Tenn., and will be televised as a syndicated broadcast.

Country legends Glen Campbell and George Jones each won awards as well.

According to SoundScan, Christian/gospel music showed 11.5 percent growth in 1999, selling twice as much as Latin music, and is larger than the jazz, classical and new age genres combined.