The band had three Top 40 hits on the Columbia label – “Lump,” “Kitty,” and “Peaches ” – and the trio earned a Grammy nomination in the Best New Alternative Band category before calling it quits.

Re-grouped, and now simply the Presidents, the quirky band is releasing Freaked Out And Small online at the download site September 12. All three original members of the band – Dave Dederer, Chris Ballew and Jason Finn – are back for the new project.

A preview track, “Jupiter,” is available for free download at the site, where fans can also pre-purchase the CD.

The album is the result of a one-off contract between the band and Musicblitz for online release. MusicBlitz has similar contracts with artists such as Aimee Mann, Mudhoney, Taj Mahal and Motorhead.

MusicBlitz, an internet-based music company, said it presented the Presidents more of a partnership than a business deal, sharing the risks and the profits of the record.

Presidents guitarist Dave Dederer said, “MusicBlitz put together a simple, straightforward deal, and we thought ‘Why the hell not?'”

Fans who pre-purchase the Presidents’ album will get their names printed in the CD liner notes and receive all in-studio recording footage on home video.