Led Zep Takes Polar Prize

The surviving members of Led Zeppelin received this year’s Polar Music Prize from Sweden’s King Carl XVI Gustaf at a May 22nd ceremony at the Concert Hall of Stockholm.

Having heard the citation describe the act as “great pioneers of rock music,” frontman Robert Plant reminded the audience that Led Zeppelin recorded its In Through the Out Door album in the Swedish capital in 1979.

Plant, Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones were joined by Zoe, the daughter of drummer John Bonham. He died in 1980.

They shared the award – which is split between pop and classical musicians – with Russian conductor Valery Gergiev.

Led Zeppelin formed in 1968 and split 12 years later, following Bonham’s death.

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by Stig Anderson, manager of Swedish pop group Abba, who named it after his record label, Polar Records.

Its previous winners include Sir Paul McCartney, Bruce Springsteen and producer Quincy Jones.

– John Gammon