CMA Noms Quite Masculine

The nominees for the Country Music Association Awards were announced in New York City August 30th, and there is a three-way tie for frontrunner between Brad Paisley, Alan Jackson and Kenny Chesney.

Paisley announced a partial list of nominees in New York City with the help of Sugarland‘s Jennifer Nettles. He is nominated for album of the year, entertainer of the year and male vocalist. Nettles’ band is up for vocal group and the Horizon Award for promising new artist.

Entertainer nominees, besides Paisley, are Chesney, Brooks & Dunn, Rascal Flatts, and Keith Urban.

Female vocalists are Sara Evans, Faith Hill, Martina McBride, Carrie Underwood and Gretchen Wilson. The male counterparts are Dierks Bentley, Chesney, Jackson, Paisley and Urban.

Vocal group nominees are Alison Krauss + Union Station featuring Jerry Douglas, Little Big Town, Lonestar, Rascal Flatts and Sugarland. Vocal duos are Big & Rich, Brooks & Dunn, Montgomery Gentry, Van Zant, and The Wreckers.

The Horizon Award noms include Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Josh Turner, and Carrie Underwood.

Meanwhile, the CMA announced George Strait, Sonny James and producer Harold Bradley will be inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame. Formal induction will take place during the awards show, which is scheduled to take place at Nashville’s Gaylord Entertainment Center November 6th and expected to be broadcast on ABC television.