Levon Helm, James McMurtry and the duo of Alison Krauss and Robert Plant top the nominations with three apiece. McMurtry and Helm were nominated for album, artist and song of the year; Krauss and Plant were nominated for album, song and duo/group of the year.

Steve Earle and Jim Lauderdale are also vying for artist of the year and Tift Merritt and Hayes Carll are the other nominees for song of the year. Instrumentalist nominees are Buddy Miller, Chris Thile, Gurf Morlix and Sam Bush.

Drive-by Truckers, Kane, Welch & Kaplin and The Avett Brothers are the other three duo/group noms.

New emerging artist nominees are Justin Townes Earle, Mike Farris, Ryan Bingham and The Steeldrivers.

The awards show is just one event of the Americana Festival and Conference, slated September 17-20 at the Nashville Convention Center.