American Country Awards Noms Announced

Now that the nominations are in, it’s up to the fans to pick the winners for the inaugural American Country Awards. Lady Antebellum and Easton Corbin are both up for seven awards each.

The awards show is being hosted by Fox TV and airs live Dec. 6 from 8-10 p.m. EST. The event takes place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

“Unlike any other country music award show, the ‘American Country Awards’ will give fans the power to choose all of the winners, which means the awards will reflect what America is listening to and watching right now,” executive producer Bob Bain said.

Awards are being given out in the following categories: artist, album, single, music videos and touring.

Photo: AP Photo
ABC’s "Good Morning America," New York City

Lady Antebellum is competing for artist of the year with Taylor Swift, Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood and Zac Brown Band. The Nashville-based trio was also nominated for duo/group of the year. Thanks to the Lady Antebellum’s sophomore album Need You Now and the release’s title track, the group earned nominations for album of the year, single of the year, single by a duo/group, music video of the year and video by a duo/group.

Easton Corbin is vying for new/breakthrough artist of the year along with , Jaron And The Long Road To Love, The Band Perry and Danny Gokey. Fans can also help Corbin win single of the year, single by a male artist, single by a new/breakthrough artist, music video of the year, music video by a male artist, and music video by a new/breakthrough artist for “Little More Country Than That.”

Photo: Jason Moore
2010 Winterblast, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton, Va.

Male artist of the year nominees include Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, Luke Bryan and Keith Urban. Female artist of the year nominees include Underwood, Swift, Lambert, Reba McEntire and Jewel. Rascal Flatts will give Lady Antebellum some competition for duo/group of the year along with Zac Brown Band, Sugarland and The Band Perry.

The following artists are up for touring artist of the year: Tim McGraw, Paisley, Rascal Flatts, George Strait/Reba, Swift, Sugarland, Brooks & Dunn,  Underwood, Toby Keith, and Martina McBride/Trace Adkins. Arena, Glendale, Ariz.

Album of the year nominees include Lambert (Revolution), Underwood (Play On), Bryan (Doin’ My Thing), and Josh Turner (Haywire).

Fans can vote for their favorite artists once a day now through Nov. 8. The only exception is the artist of the year category, which will remain open until Dec. 4.

The nominees in each category were chosen based on data from media measurement companies Big Champagne, Great American Country, Mediabase and Pollstar.

Click here for the official American Country Awards website.