A Few More Things: Ringo Starr, Method Man, The Sound Strike

Ringo Starr’s gold-plated drum gets some special attention, Method Man pleads guilty to tax evasion and more artists add their names to The Sound Strike.

You Say It’s Your Birthday

Ringo Starr is celebrating his birthday with a little help from his friends at New York City’s Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Photo: AP Photo
During a ceremony to award him the 2,401st star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

The museum is hosting a special exhibition honoring Starr’s 70th birthday with his gold-plated snare drum on display. Fans can check out the drum beginning July 7 – Starr’s birthday – through December.

The Ludwig Drum Company in Chicago gave the drummer the instrument during the Beatles’ 1964 U.S. tour as a thank you for popularizing the Ludwig name. The band’s 1964 appearance on “The Ed Sullivan Show” featured Starr playing a Ludwig oyster black pearl drum set.

Click here for the AP story.

Method Man vs. The Man

After being arrested in October for owing nearly $33,000 to the New York state government, on Monday former Wu-Tang Clan member Method Man pleaded guilty to evading state taxes.

The 39-year-old rapper was forced to pay a total of $106,000 in back taxes, penalties, fines and interest, according to Reuters.

Method man’s attorney, Peter M. Frankel, pointed the finger at a previous accountant, who no longer works for the rapper.

“He had business people who were supposed to file, but didn’t,” Frankel said. “As soon as he found [out] about it, he took responsibility.”

Click here for the Reuters story.

The Sound Strike Is Going Strong

The list of artists refusing to play gigs in Arizona by adding their names to The Sound Strike is growing bigger day by day.

Photo: Doug Seymour
Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, Ill.

The latest musicians to join the artist collective include Nine Inch Nails, Maroon 5, Gogol Bordello, My Morning Jacket, Ben Harper, Ry Cooder, Pitbull, Steve Earle, Billy Bragg, Sweet Honey In The Rock, Anti-Flag, Throwing Muses, State Radio, Aztlan Underground and DJ Spooky, along with comedian Chris Rock.

The Sound Strike was started by Rage Against the Machine’s Zack de la Rocha to protest the state’s new immigration law.

The New York Times describes the new law, SB 1070, as “the nation’s toughest bill on illegal immigration,” explaining that “its aim is to identify, prosecute and deport illegal immigrants.” Police in the border state will be required to ask people about their immigration status if officers suspect they are illegal immigrants. Gov. Jan Brewer signed the law April 23 and it goes into effect in late July.

The Sound Strike also includes Sonic Youth, Joe Satriani, Kanye West, Juanes, Conor Oberst, Los Tigres Del Norte, Café Tacvba, Calle 13, Serj Tankian, Ozomatli, Rise Against and Tenacious D.

Click here for the Sound Strike website.